#How Soludo Got 46.5% Of Votes To Emerge Anambra Governor-elect [Breakdown]


    The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), on Wednesday has declared Charles Chukwuma Soludo of the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) as winner of the November 6 governorship election in Anambra State after garnering 46.5 percent of total valid votes cast.

    The Returning Officer, Prof Florence Obi made this announcement at INEC headquarters in Awka, the state capital.

    Soludo, a former Governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) garnered a total of112,229 votes to defeat his 17 other rivals in the election.

    Valentine Ozigbo of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) came second with 53, 807 while Andy Uba of the All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate got a total of 43,285 votes to emerge third.

    Ifeanyi Ubah of the Young Progressive Party (YPP) came fourth with 21,261 votes.
    The declaration of Soludo came after the conclusion of election process in Ihiala Local Government Area of the state.

    INEC held a supplementary election in Ihiala, Tuesday, following the disruption of election in the local government on Saturday.

    Soludo who won the supplementary election polled 8,283 votes while Ozigbo polled 2,485 to come second.

    With the conclusion of the election, Soludo won a total of 19 local governments, scoring 25% in all the 21 LGAs in the state, while Ozigbo and Ubah shared a local government apiece.

    The Returning Officer, Obi listed the areas where Soludo won to include; Dunukofia, Awka South, Oyi, Anaocha, Ayamelum, Anambra East, Idemili South and Onitsha South.

    She also stated that the APGA candidate also won in Njikoka, Orumba South, Onitsha North, Idemili North, Ekwusigo, Aguata, and Nnewi South, Orumba North and Ihiala Local Government Areas.

    The PDP candidate won in Ogbaru with 3445 votes, APGA scored second while Apc came third in the same council.

    Senator Ifeanyi Uba of the Young Progressive Party (YPP) won in his home Local Government, Nnewi North in spite coming a distant fourth in the overall score card with 21261 votes.

    Soludo is expected to be sworn in, in March 2022, following the tenure expiration of the outgoing governor, Willie Obiano.

    Below is how the 18 candidates fared in the election:

    Accord Godwin Maduka 2,054

    AA  Etiaba Chukwuogo 83

    AAC Nwankwo Chidozie 588

    ADC Akachukwu Nwankpo 324

    ADP Afam Ume-Ezeoke 773

    APC Andy Uba 43,283

    APGA Chukwuma Soludo 112,229 (WINNER)

    APP  Azubuike Echetebu  139

    APM  Onyejegbu Okwudili 301

    BP Chika Okeke 186

    LP   Emmanuel Agbasimalo 2,802

    NNPP  Ohajimkpo Emeka 117

    NRM Ezenwafor Victor  213

    PDP Valentine Ozigbo  53,807

    PRP Nnamdi Nwawuo 437

    SDP Obinna Uzor 842

    YPP Ifeanyi Ubah 21,261

    ZLP Obiora Okonkwo 2,082

    Registered voters: 2,466,638
    Accredited Voters: 253,388
    Valid Votes: 241,523
    Rejected Votes: 8,108
    Total Votes cast: 249,631