15.1 C
Saturday, September 24, 2022

#UK PM Liz Truss Set To Make Nigerian Kemi As Trade Secretary

- Advertisement -spot_img

Hours after her confirmation as the new Prime Minister of the United Kingdom, Liz Truss, has announced the appointment of Kemi Badenoch as a member of her team in a cabinet reshuffle.

Badenoch is now the new Secretary of State for international trade and president of the board of trade.

She takes over from Anne-Marie Trevelyan, who has been appointed as secretary of state for transport.

The appointment was announced in a tweet posted on the verified Twitter page of the UK Prime Minister, @10DowningStreet, on Tuesday.

The post read, “Kemi Badenoch MP @KemiBadenoch has been appointed Secretary of State for International Trade and President of the Board of Trade @TradeGovUK.

It would be recalled that Badenoch was the equalities and local government minister during the administration of Boris Johnson.

She, alongside some other government officials, in July resigned their positions in the cabinet over the former prime minister’s handling of a series of scandals.

The 42-year-old went on to contest the prime minister position, and finished fourth in the race.

Badenoch was born in Wimbledon, London, to Nigerian parents. Her childhood was spent in part of the United States of America, and in Lagos, Nigeria. She returned to the United Kingdom at the age of 16.

After studying Computer Systems Engineering at the University of Sussex, Badenoch worked as a software engineer at Logica. She went on to work at the Royal Bank of Scotland Group as a systems analyst before working as an associate director at Coutts and later as a director at The Spectator magazine.

Below here are the other appointments made on Tuesday and approved by the Queen Elizabeth II, as contained in a press release by 10 Downing Street include:

1).The Rt Hon Dr Thérèse Coffey MP as Secretary of State for Health and Social Care. She will also be Deputy Prime Minister.

2)The Rt Hon Kwasi Kwarteng MP as Chancellor of the Exchequer

3)The Rt Hon James Cleverly MP as Secretary of State for Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Affairs

4)The Rt Hon Suella Braverman QC MP as Secretary of State for the Home Department.

Wendy Morton MP as Parliamentary Secretary to the Treasury (Chief Whip). She will attend Cabinet

5) The Rt Hon Ben Wallace MP has been re-appointed as Secretary of State for Defence.

The Rt Hon Brandon Lewis CBE MP as Lord Chancellor, and Secretary of State for Justice.

6)The Rt Hon Nadhim Zahawi MP as Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster, Minister for Intergovernmental Relations and Minister for Equalities

7) The Rt Hon Penny Mordaunt MP as Lord President of the Council, and Leader of the House of Commons

Lord True CBE as Lord Privy Seal, and Leader of the House of Lords.

8) The Rt Hon Jake Berry MP as Minister without Portfolio

9) The Rt Hon Alok Sharma MP has been re-appointed as COP26 President

10) The Rt Hon Jacob Rees-Mogg MP as Secretary of State for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy.

11) The Rt Hon Simon Clarke MP as Secretary of State for Levelling Up, Housing and Communities

12) Chloe Smith MP as Secretary of State for Work and Pensions

13) The Rt Hon Kit Malthouse MP as Secretary of State for Education.

Ranil Jayawardena MP as Secretary of State for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs

14) The Rt Hon Anne-Marie Trevelyan MP as Secretary of State for Transport

15) The Rt Hon Michelle Donelan MP as Secretary of State for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport.

16) The Rt Hon Chris Heaton-Harris MP as Secretary of State for Northern Ireland

17) The Rt Hon Alister Jack MP has been re-appointed as Secretary of State for Scotland

18) The Rt Hon Sir Robert Buckland KBE QC MP has been re-appointed as Secretary of State for Wales.

Chris Philp MP as Chief Secretary to the Treasury. He will attend Cabinet

- Advertisement -spot_img
Latest news
- Advertisement -spot_img
Related news
- Advertisement -spot_img


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here